Manny Pacquiao is 2008 Fighter of the Year

Manny Pacquiao is 2008 Fighter of the Year

Category: Boxing


Yesterday in New York, Manny Pacquiao was awarded the 2008 Fighter of the Year given out by the Boxing Writers Association of America. It’s like him receiving the Oscar Awards for boxing. This was the second time he was given the prestigious award after also having it in 2006.

The award was expected since no one really conquered the boxing world last year like Manny Pacquiao did. It all started with a narrow split-decision over Juan Manuel Marquez in March. He then knocked-out David Diaz in the 9th round 3 months later. In his final bout of the year; a mega-blockbuster duel with Oscar dela Hoya, he sent the Golden Boy into retirement via an 8th round knockout. He is also in contention for the 2009 Fighter of the Year Award after his 2nd Round KO of Ricky Hatton last March. If he wins against the winner of the Miguel Cotto vs Joshua Clottey or the Floyd Mayweather vs Juan Manuel Marquez bout or even Shane Mosley, the award is already in the bag.

Here’s the video of the Pacman accepting his Fighter of the Year Award.

Check out Dennis Guillermo’s transcription of Manny’s speech here.

His coach, Freddie Roach was also given his third Trainer of the Year.

Last week, Manny Pacquiao was included in the Forbes Celebrity 100 List.

Congratulations Manny. Mabuhay ka!

Related Posts with Thumbnails If you want to receive my latest posts, please subscribe to my full feed RSS or have them delivered through email. Just enter your email address below and hit the Subscribe button.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Manny Pacquiao is 2008 Fighter of the Year”

  1. pacman_fan Says:

    galing talaga ni idol!galing din mag-ingles kahit halatang binabasa,hehehe…


    ark Reply:

    Ok lang un. Straight at maganda naman kahit papaano ung pagbabasa nia, hehe.. 😀


  2. Manny Paquiao, Manny Pacquaio or Many Pacquiao? | Says:

    […] you are thinking of the current pound-for-pound king, the Boxing Writers Association of America 2008 Fighter of the Year and the 2009 ESPY Awards Best Fighter, then you got his name […]

Leave a Reply