2010 Philippine Election Results

Violence, Long Lines, Voting Machine Glitches Did Not Prevent Pinoys From Casting Their Votes

Category: News


2010 Philippine Election Results

The 2010 Philippine Election was marred by violence long before it even started when 57 people were killed (mostly media men) in Maguindanao Province, Mindanao last November 23, 2009.

On May 10, 2010 (election day), 27 casualties and 40 injuries were added to that list as election-related violence in the Philippines increased to 82 incidents. Most of those election-day incidents happened in Mindanao.

The day was also marred by reports of disenfranchisement, long and disorderly lines, chaos, delay in the delivery of ballot boxes and even heavy rains in some areas.

Since this is the first national computerized election in Philippine history, computer glitches can’t be averted. About 400 of the 80,000 EVMs (electronic voting machines) malfunctioned. In a report by csmonitor, Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino was not able to cast his vote because the machine in his precinct malfunctioned.

However, these didn’t deter Filipinos from coming to polling precincts as early as 5:00 AM to cast their precious vote. In fact, of the more than 50 million registered voters, voter turnout was 75%. The voting was extended by one hour up to 7:00 PM to cater those who have waited in the long lines.

Formal results from the elections, which will also fill more than 17,000 government positions, are expected within two days.

I will post election results updates here from time to time as they come from various news agencies covering the 2010 Philippine elections.


UPDATE May 11, 12:30 AM – Of the presidential candidates, Aquino had secured 40.44 percent of the votes counted, with Estrada on 25.76 percent and business titan Manny Villar in third place with 13.98 percent, Commission on Election chair Jose Melo told reporters. (ABS-CBN News)

UPDATE May 11, 12:40 AM – Aquino continues to lead the race based on a partial and unofficial consolidation of data from 58.31 percent of election returns nationwide. Jejomar Binay meanwhile is shown to be leading the vice presidential race. (GMA News)

UPDATE May 11, 11:10 AM – Of the senatorial candidates, Ramon “Bong” Revilla, Jr. is leading the race with 16,407,143 votes and Jinggoy Estrada coming a close second with 16,115,025 votes. (Shared Corner)

UPDATE May 11, 1:44 PM – Aquino has a lead of more than 3.3 million votes over his nearest rival, former President Joseph Estrada. Aquino got 8,958,396 votes based on 57 percent of the election returns electronically counted by the Commission on Elections as of 11:11 Monday night, Comelec Chair Jose Melo announced at a press briefing. (Philippine Daily Inquirer)

UPDATE May 11, 3:00 PM – Four presidential hopefuls have conceded to election frontrunner Sen. Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III.  Nacionalista Party standard-bearer Sen. Manny Villar, Ang Kapatiran’s JC de los Reyes, Sen. Richard Gordon of Bagumbayan and administration bet Gilberto Teodoro have called it quits following their consistently low rankings in the partial tally of election returns. (Philippine Star)

UPDATE May 11, 5:56 PM – Presidential bet Joseph Estrada this Tuesday afternoon made it clear he isn’t about to concede the election despite the departure of four of his rivals.

“I wish to assure the public that while I will file no protest I am not conceding,” he said in a statement read out by his son Senator Jinggoy Estrada.

The former president said only Congress can proclaim the winner and called on Comelec to refrain from proclaiming the partial results as final. (Yahoo! Philippines)

UPDATE May 11, 10:00 PM – For Sen. Manuel “Mar” Roxas II, the fight for the vice-presidency is not yet over despite the lead being enjoyed by Makati mayor Jejomar Binay.

“The race as between me and my closest competitor is indeed very tight. However, it is not for me, or anybody for that matter, to say if we’ve already lost,” Roxas said in a statement. (Yahoo! Philippines)

UPDATE May 12, 12:52 PM – Just like the senatorial race, at least 10 incumbent party-list organizations will probably regain their seats in the House of Representatives. An unofficial tally of election results showed that incumbent party-list groups Coalition of Associations of Senior Citizens in the Philippies, Inc. (Senior Citizens), Buhay Hayaan Yumabong (Buhay), Akbayan, Gabriela, Cooperative Natcco Network Party (Coop-Natcco), Bayan Muna, AN WARAY, ABONO, Citizens’ Battle Against Corruption (CIBAC), and the Advocacy for Teacher Empowerment Through Action, Cooperation, and Harmony Towards Educational Reforms, Inc. (A Teacher) have garnered enough votes to possibly regain their congressional seats. (GMA News)

UPDATE May 12, 1:01 PM – As of 9:05 a.m., Aquino was still ahead of former President Joseph Estrada in the presidential elections by at around 5 million votes while Binay remains on top of the vice-presidential race with a lead of around 800,000. (ABS-CBN News)

Watch the Eleksyon 2010 coverage online stream from GMA News below:

Download Flash

Watch the Halalan 2010 coverage online stream from ABS-CBN News below:

For detailed breakdown of results per region / province, visit: Iba na Ngayon

Related Posts with Thumbnails If you want to receive my latest posts, please subscribe to my full feed RSS or have them delivered through email. Just enter your email address below and hit the Subscribe button.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply