World MMA Awards 2010 Winners

World MMA Awards 2010 Winners

Category: MMA


World MMA Awards 2010 Winners

The 3rd annual Fighters Only World Mixed Martial Arts Awards 2010 was held at the Palms Casino Resort  in Las Vegas, Nevada, USA on December 1, 2010.

Sponsored by Fighters Only Magazine, the awards show is a celebration of the best things that happened in the world of mixed martial arts for the year 2010.

Nominees and eventual winners are determined by online fan voting.

Check out the list of winners for the 2010 World MMA Awards after the jump.

Winner is in RED.

Referee of the Year
Herb Dean
“Big” John McCarthy
Dan Miragliotta
Josh Rosenthal
Mario Yamasaki

Best Technical Clothing Brand
Bad Boy

Best Technical Equipment Brand

Media Source of the Year
Inside MMA
MMA Fighting
MMA Junkie
MMA Weekly

Best Promotion
UFCno surprise here

Submission of the Year
Fabricio Werdum vs. Fedor Emelianenko, Strikeforce: Fedor vs. Werdum
Cole Miller vs. Dan Lauzon, UFC 108
Chris Leben vs. Yoshihiro Akiyama, UFC 116
Matt Hughes vs. Ricardo Almeida, UFC 117
Anderson Silva vs. Chael Sonnen, UFC 117 – I think this should have won

Gym of the Year
American Kickboxing Academy
American Top Team
Black House
Greg Jackson
Wand Fight Team

MMA Journalist of the Year
Conner Cordova, MMA Religion
Gareth A. Davies, The Daily Telegraph
Ariel Helwani, MMA Fighting
John Morgan, MMA Junkie
Aaron Teweles, Freelance Journalist

Coach of the Year
Rafael Cordeiro
Cesar Gracie
Greg Jacksonanyone who coaches Georges St-Pierre is an automatic winner
Shawn Tompkins
Firas Zahabi

Best Lifestyle Clothing Brand
Silver Star

International Fighter of the Year
Shinya Aoki
John Hathaway
Dan Hardy
Alistair Overeem
George Sotiropoulos

Ring Girl of the Year
Arianny Celestesurely, her Playboy stint helped a lot
Rachelle Leah
Brittney Palmer
Chandella Powell
Natalie Skyy

Leading Man of the Year
Scott Coker
Bjorn Rebney
Michael Schiavello
Joe Silva
Dana Whiteno surprise here

Most Memorable Ring Entrance
Clay Guida
Muhammad “King Mo” Lawal
Tom Lawlor
Jason Miller
Anderson Silva

Fight of the Year
Jorge Santiago vs. Kazuo Misaki, Sengoku 14
Chris Leben vs. Yoshihiro Akiyama, UFC 116
Brock Lesnar vs. Shane Carwin, UFC 116
Anderson Silva vs. Chael Sonnen, UFC 117
Chan Sung Jung vs. Leonard Garcia, WEC 48 – I think this should have won

Female Fighter of the Year
Zoila Frausto
Megumi Fujii
Sarah Kaufman
Cristiane Santosthe Cyborg!
Miesha Tate

Knockout of the Year
Cain Velasquez vs. Antonio Nogueira, UFC 110
Lyoto Machida vs. Mauricio Rua, UFC 113
Mike Russow vs. Todd Duffee, UFC 114
Rich Franklin vs. Chuck Liddell, UFC 115
Anthony Njokuani vs. Chris Horodecki, WEC 45

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year
Evan Dunham
John Hathaway
Jon Jones
Charles Oliveira
George Sotiropoulos

The Charles ‘Mask’ Lewis Fighter of the Year
Jose Aldo
Frankie Edgar
Brock Lesnar
Mauricio Rua
Anderson Silva

Related Posts with Thumbnails If you want to receive my latest posts, please subscribe to my full feed RSS or have them delivered through email. Just enter your email address below and hit the Subscribe button.


Leave a Reply