Derrick Rose, 2011 NBA Most Valuable Player

Derrick Rose Wins 2011 NBA Most Valuable Player Award

Category: Basketball


Derrick Rose, 2011 NBA Most Valuable Player

While no official announcement has yet been made by the NBA, Derrick Rose of the Chicago Bulls is set to be recognized as its Most Valuable Player for the 2010-11 NBA season.

Various sources say NBA Commissioner David Stern will present it to him before the Game 2 of the Bulls Eastern Conference semifinal series against the Hawks on May 4 at the United Center.

Rose ended the reign of The King, LeBron James who won the award last year and the previous year.

Here are interesting facts about Rose’s MVP season:

* The youngest NBA MVP in history. He was born on October 4, 1988, making him 22 years and 7 months come Wednesday. He supplants 1969 winner and Hall of Famer Wes Unseld by roughly five months. Unseld also won the Rookie of the Year at that time.

* He ranked seventh in scoring and 10th in assists, making him the only player this season in the top 10 in both categories. The only other Bulls player to do that was Michael Jordan in 1988-89, when he led the league in scoring (32.5 points) and finished 10th in assists.

* With averages of 25 points, 7.7 assists and 4.1 rebounds, Rose became the seventh player in NBA history to post averages of at least 25 points, 7.5 assists and four rebounds in a single season. He joined heavyweights Oscar Robertson, Jerry West, Larry Bird, Michael Jordan, Dwyane Wade and LeBron James.

* The fifth player and first point guard to post 2,000 points, 600 assists and 300 rebounds in the same season joining elite company in Robertson, Jordan, James and John Havlicek.

* The first MVP winner since Dave Cowens in 1973 to win the award without receiving one vote the previous year.

* The first third-year player to win the award since Moses Malone in 1978-79.

* He joins Jordan, who won the award five times, as the only MVPs in franchise history.

* Led the Chicago Bulls to league leading record of 62-20. Their 60+ wins was the Bulls’ first since the 1997-98 season and sixth 60+ win in the team’s franchise history.

* Named as a starting guard on the 2011 NBA All-Star Team for the East squad.

Derrick Rose was selected by the Bulls with the #1 overall pick in the 2008 NBA Draft and he immediately made an impact winning the Rookie of the Year award and becoming the first rookie to win the Skills Challenge at the NBA All-Star Weekend.

In his second season, he was named as a reserve for the Easter Conference All-Star squad and a starter for the U.S. Team at the 2010 FIBA World Championships.

Check out this video highlights of Derrick Rose’s top 10 plays from his MVP season:


Derrick Rose, 2011 NBA Most Valuable Player

UPDATE May 3, 2011: It’s official! Derrick Rose of the Chicago Bulls is the winner of the Maurice Podoloff Trophy as the 2010-11 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award, the NBA announced today.

Rose totaled 1,182 points including 113 first-place votes, from a panel of 120 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada as well as an NBA MVP fan vote.

Rounding out the top five in voting are Orlando’s Dwight Howard (643 points, three first place), Miami’s LeBron James (522, four first-place votes), the Los Angeles Lakers’ Kobe Bryant (428, one first-place vote) and Oklahoma City’s Kevin Durant (190).

The NBA MVP trophy is named in honor of the late Maurice Podoloff, the first commissioner of the NBA who served from 1946 until his retirement in 1963.

Related Posts with Thumbnails If you want to receive my latest posts, please subscribe to my full feed RSS or have them delivered through email. Just enter your email address below and hit the Subscribe button.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply